Meditation

Meditation has been a big topic for me. That, combined with breathing exercises and yoga improved my mental health beyond the wildest expectations.

Meditation is quite a broad term as there are many different kinds and practices. It is very complex ‘exercise’, which requires years of learning, dedication and training. I am far from an expert and I would feel really embarrassed and disrespectful to claim otherwise. Actually, the more I discover and read about meditation the more I feel like I have been just touching the surface. And if I had to rate my understanding and skills from 1 to 10 (10 being a floating yogi/Buddha), I would be barely a 1.

Well, there is some shameless self-promotion right there!

But humour aside, meditation was one of the anxiety management tools that really changed my life. In this and next article, I just want to briefly talk about my intro into meditating, what I have learnt and how I am developing my abilities.

First of all, we all kind of know what meditation means because it is such an overused and trendy word. However, because it is an abstract and broad concept, the sense is sometimes misunderstood.

According to the Meditation Handbook, it is

‘a mind that concentrates on a virtuous object, and that is the main cause of mental peace. The practice of meditation is a method for acquainting our mind with virtue. […] When our mind is peaceful, we are free from worries and mental discomfort, and we experience true happiness. If we train our mind to become peaceful we will be happy all the time, even in the most adverse conditions.’

There is a ton of benefits of meditation.

meditation-chart

Image source here.

Even more amazingly, according to the recent studies in neuroscience, meditation does actually change the structure and mechanism of our brains.

Definitely read this interview with Harvard neuroscientist: Meditation not only reduces stress, here’s how it changes your brain and this article: Neuroscience: This Is How Meditation Changes Your Brain for the Better.

As mentioned, there is a number of types and practices. None being better than the other. This is a brilliant post about the various kinds and techniques. Definitely worth the read! Types of Meditation – An Overview of 23 Meditation Techniques.

Also, you might find this website helpful. http://how-to-meditate.org

I don’t want to talk more about meditation generally because I believe that whoever is interest will find their own information and choose practice that most suits their attitudes, beliefs etc.

I will talk about my humble beginnings and what kind of meditation I have been practising and how it helped me.

In the next article.

My Meditation

2 thoughts on “Meditation

  1. Great to hear about this has. En helping you Anna and to find your blog. I’ve recently been doing some Felden Krais to help with my physical rehab (linked to my BT) and that reminds me a bit of mindfullness and perhaps maybe ‘beginners’ meditation.

    Sarah (www.zimmazimmathreecoursewinner.com)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

